CNA Gerontology Certification

As a CNA-certified nurse, you would be…

  • Recognized nationally for your specialty nursing practice excellence
  • Valued by many employers, because your certification would demonstrate you possess specialized knowledge
  • Recognized for your commitment to lifelong learning
  • Regarded as having enhanced professional credibility in your specialty by showing you Care to Be the Best!

Important dates for 2018

  • January 10 to March 1, 2018: Applications window to write or renew by exam
  • May 1 to May 15, 2018: Certification exam writing
  • June 1 to September 10, 2018: Applications window to write or renew by exam
  • November 1 – 15, 2018: Certification exam writing
  • January 10 to November 1, 2018: Certification renewal by continuous learning, if you are to renew in 2018

For more information please contact the CNA certification team at or call 1-800-361-8404.


Canadian Nurses Foundation

Deadline for submission of applications: November 30 2017
CNF will reimburse the fees of the certification exam, certification renewal exam or renewal by continuous learning for at least one nurse in each of the 20 specialties/areas of nursing practice

Click here for application


Study Groups – stay tuned for more information!

Fraser Health study group to be offered February to April 2018

Contact Patty Roy for more information:


The Canadian Nurses Association recognized Gerontology as a specialty and the first Certification exam was written in 1999. This certified credential is an important indicator to patients, employers, the public and Professional Licensing bodies that the certified nurse is qualified, competent and current in a nursing specialty/area of nursing practice( CNA,2009).

Contact your chapter to see if there is a certification study group in your area, to help prepare for the exam. Working with a group makes it easier to study and challenge questions amongst the group

By achieving certification, you’ll commit to a national standard of professional competence that demonstrates your understanding of your area of nursing practice (CNA,2009).

This certification is valid for 5 years, at which time one must re-certify by writing the exam again OR by meeting the required numbers of hours and type of continuous learning activity.